Confinement meal 5

My confinement lunch today: Pressure cooker long beans rice with slow cooked lotus root and soy beans chicken soup

Drink: red dates drink

Today is my first challenge of handling one kid and an infant alone for half a day (while hubby went to register our infant’s birth). Still manageable though I get annoyed with my three year old demanding behaviour.

I actually prepared the ingredients for the pressure cooker long beans rice yesterday night, so I just dump everything into the pressure cooker – done in 15 minutes. And hubby helped slow cooked the soup yesterday night.

Both hubby and big girl had the same lunch too.

Celine Tan's photo.

Confinement dinner: Stew lemon grass chicken, stir fry bok choy, slow cooked lotus root and soy beans chicken soup and mixed grains

Took the suggestion by Jay Mj to replace ginger with lemon grass to expel wind from body during confinement. I added fresh pineapple for taste (as I have one fourth pineapple left in fridge).

I marinated the chicken with turmeric powder, brown sugar, soy sauce and sesame oil. Then stew with onion, lemon grass and pineapple. Actually first time doing this ‘unique’ dish.

Celine Tan's photo.
My big girl wanted noodles, so I cooked yee mee in the slow cooked soup with an added egg

Celine Tan's photo.
Someone asked me to ‘show’ my no. 2; so here you go smile emoticon

Celine Tan's photo.

Leave a comment