Critics will be critics…so why bother?

While some may say ‘eat little bit never mind’; I would flip the coin and say ‘don’t eat also won’t die!’ 
Kids need to learn make their own choices? Yes, of course as they do need to – but only when they are fit to make healthy choices. Let’s say ‘some of the kids of their age already smoking’ and my kids have intention to do so – ‘so I shall agree to allow them make the choice of smoking’? (I know I make ‘ridiculous’ analogy, but it is a fact!) 
‘Ask mummy first.’ – Always sound like I am the one restricting and the one who is ‘spoiling their childhood’! But with early training ground, I do see the wise choices that Noelle (especially) is making these days! 
Yes I do prepare bento lunches for my kids when we dine out (still for Noelle who will be reaching 5 this year end) – but as if we eat out that often! 
Moreover, if ever I prepare food for them, I never trouble anyone – my ‘choice’. Some even question why I take ‘trouble’ to prepare – errr…I don’t find it troublesome at all; ‘you will spend less time with them with food preparation’ – errr…I usually do it when they are still asleep or when hubby is here to look after them (papa also need to spend time with them what)! 
‘Your kids are not smart at selecting good food!’ Again, what’s the definition of ‘smart’ and ‘good food’. I actually feel good that they are ‘not so smart’ in choosing ‘rich food’ (as in so high quality- five star food – as though we can afford it.) Some even say their ‘choices’ are limited) and they still like ‘bland’ food – as in they need the least seasoning but most flavouring are from natural ingredients. Anyway if one thinks eating healthy (or with natural ingredients) is cheap, try find out how much we spend on fruits itself in a week! 
I know their meals and health have been scrutinized every now and then – whether with good or ‘not so’ good intention. In fact, when I posted Noelle taking her first meal outside, it was such an alarm for some people – it is either ‘wa…you finally not preparing/ allowing outside meal?’.
Critics will be critics…so, why bother? 
My kids my choice; your kids your choice. 

While they may not be 100% perfect in health, they are overall healthy, happy and active kids. My objective is still to help them build a healthy self immunity system and guiding them to making healthy choices – not a foodie. Food is for survival and there are many, many more life choices that need to be guided – especially when they grow older. (I know I am repeating 😝 but I am clear with my objectives – and not shifting them for my own convenience!)
**i am not a perfect mum, but trying to do my ‘best’.

Great article to read: https://www.lifecoachcode.com/2017/05/19/kid-never-eaten-sugar/

Leave a Reply

