Second time, exclusively breastfed


The breastfeeding journey does get easier when it comes to the subsequent kid (equipped with knowledge and experience); at least for my case!
My second baby turns 6 months old today and this marks our 6 months exclusive breastfeeding journey. 
For myself, it has been 3.5 years of breastfeeding (both my girls born on same date, three years apart). I only managed to tandem nurse maybe for a week after which my elder daughter says ‘nen nen is yucky’! 
While both girls are exclusively breastfed, they are both different in their own ways. And this has also busted the many myths about breastfed babies! For example, people always assume that breastfed babies are clingy and need the breast to sleep. Yes, my elder girl was one of these high needs baby at her infant days but my younger girl could actually soothe herself to sleep in a swaddle (especially her early three months)!
Not all babies are same even if they come from the same ‘factory’ and fed the same breastmilk. While my elder is sort of tiny baby, my younger girl double her birth weight quite quickly and achieved her sister’s 6 months old weight by third month! (They are about 250g difference at birth) 
Some may argue that this is because my second girl direct latch entirely in the six months since I am a stay at home mum (while I did pump and bottle fed my first girl – since at that point I was a working mum). But actually my elder girl latched more frequent and longer in her early days compared to my younger girl! Well, I am not a Scientist to make a conclusion on this.
My point is do not doubt your own breastmilk (and the quantity you produced)! Every baby is different- so ignore the comparisons that people always make on babies raised & fed differently (or even similarly)!
How does it get easier with number two? Firstly, no one doubt you because you have successfully breastfed the first who is growing up so healthily. Even if there are, of course, one would have cleverly avoid or ignore them! Brush away people who try to belittle you! 
We basically breastfed everywhere (because we know nothing matters more than feeding the baby plus the need to handle the elder kid, every action has to be ‘fast’) – I think in these six months, we only looked for a nursing room 5% of our total outing! We even brought her to an oversea trip at 4 months! Well, the decision to babywear (from birth) was one of our best decisions that ease our breastfeeding journey.
So now what? Certainly, we would continue our breastfeeding journey until she naturally weans off like her elder sister (maybe in a different way). For now, I would enjoy our every breastfeeding moment (I no longer whine like I used to during my first girl’s days about the long nursing session)- as I do miss breastfeeding my elder girl – who insists that ‘nen nen’ now belongs to Mei Mei! 
Breastfeeding is not a competition nor a trend; but it is a choice on how you would like to feed your baby! Begin with an end in the mind!

Leave a Reply

