My thoughts on homeschooling at 3.5yo


I got to admit that the decision to homeschool this 3.5 year old during her preschool years is mainly by ME – for simple reason, I am doing the ‘most’ work/supervision/guidance or whatever you may name it! 
Also, with Nikki coming along, we did not want Noelle to feel that ‘we are sending you away because of your sister’s existence’! We are glad that Noelle wasn’t send to school for this reason – she developed a truly amazing relationship with Nikki within less than 6 months!
Sometimes I do ponder if the decision is ‘right’. Sometimes I wonder if she would prefer going to school (she did tell me she wants to go to school after I told her that her neighbour friend is going to school – but we had a chat on it – which I will leave it to next post). Sometimes I do think of her progress/development/milestones. (But I have many mummies telling me that she’s doing fine! Some even shared their kids Montessori activities – and told me that mostly achieved by Noelle already.) Being selfish, sometimes I wonder if I would have more time for myself if I just send her to school (but my friend warned me that I will have more work – chauffeuring with a baby along!)
We don’t really go through any syllabus or guide. We don’t even have any theme play – but most activities are just based on our resources. Most of the time I tried doing activities that she is interested. She is not even taught how to write or read but mostly by listening (I do read to her) and observation. 
No doubt Nikki around, Noelle has a lot of her free time – which she can choose what she likes to do (sometimes I do feel that she is bored – but I read an article that it is ok for them to feel bored and they are supposed to think for themselves on what to do).
I also tried incorporating learning into our daily routines/task – for example, today when we were cutting French beans, we learn about the name itself, cutting into different sizes and ‘opposites’ (as in short as opposed to long). We also encourage learning by observation. Noelle actually imitates a lot on how I speak to Nikki, which includes ‘Nikki, are you ok?’ or ‘Nikki, so cute ahhh’ (I will allow you to imagine her expressions). Another example is when we were furniture hunting – while hubby was measuring the chairs – she was just following along.
We tried our best to have weekend activities so that she could get some exposure in life with people of her age. 
Seriously, we do not actually know this is the best decision – but the decision has been made! Probably, I will take the blame if things with her doesn’t turn out well 🙄.
*please do not ever think that I am homeschooling her because I am not able to ‘let go’

Leave a Reply

